Review: Hooked by Allen Wolf


Book Rate: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Review:

This got me hooked! Such an interesting read!

Allen Wolf brings us a refreshing tale with two very peculiar characters. And we all know I’m all about characters… And these were just excellent! It was so amazing to see Shawn and Violet’s relationship develop as well as their interactions with the different worlds they lived in and eventually mashed together.

I had never read a book about an autist before and I found it to be immensely interesting. By reading Hooked I not only learned a bit more about what this people face daily but also about other situations I wasn’t as aware of as I might have thought: prostitution. I think Allen Wolf managed to address these subjects in a very clear and realistic way. I do, although, also believe both Shawn’s and Violet’s particular situtations could’ve been explored even further in order to turn Hooked into a not so light read.

The storyline itself was good, lacking only the character exploration I just referred and which would, therefore, darken the plot a bit too. But overall it was still gripping in the way that the reader really cares about the characters and wants to find out if they get their “happily ever after” (either together or not).

A little note, Hooked has a lot of Catholic Church’s references. I know most people don’t mind reading about a different religion from their own (or their non-existing religion, if they are atheists like in my case) but if for some reason this might bug you I just thought I should tell you guys since it’s not specified in the book’s description.

Now to wrap this review up I proudly announce that I recommend Allen Wolf’s Hooked for all of you looking for a fun and different story with very lovable characters and which addresses very relevant subjects.

Detailed Rating:

  • Plot ★★★★☆
  • Characters ★★★★☆
  • Writing ★★★★☆
  • Pacing ★★★★☆
  • Cover ★★★☆☆

Synopsis (adapted from goodreads):

Desperate to find a soulmate, Shawn experiences one awkward date after another until he encounters the alluring Violet. He asks her out, but his autism prevents him from understanding she’s actually a prostitute.

Drawn in by his kindness, Violet appreciates Shawn’s quirky nature but conceals what she does after dark. Shawn soon imagines Violet could be his perfect wife while Violet thinks Shawn could be her ticket to a new life.

This tale of two misfits takes a dramatic turn when they face an unexpected crisis and their only hope for a future is to discover the courage that comes from truly loving someone.

Publisher: Morning Star Publishing
Date of Publication:  February 10th 2015
Genre: Romantic Comedy, Drama, Contemporary, Adult
Page Count: 238
Source: I was approved on Netgalley to receive a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
3 thoughts on “Review: Hooked by Allen Wolf

Leave a Reply

