Review: Dalliance by K. Morris

24498367
Book Rate:
 ★★★☆☆ (3/5)

Review:

I consider every review to be very subjective but the experience of reading poetry, for some reason, seems to be even more related to each individual reader rather than an “audience” of readers. It is probably for this reason that my review of Dalliance will differ quite a bit from the excellent reviews it received on goodreads.

I read Dalliance in two different afternoons while enjoying a cup of tea. That’s also what I suggest you to do if you decide to read this book.

Dalliance was a little surprise box, I never knew if the next poem or flash prose would have any meaning at all to me. Some of them had the same effect on me as reading an instruction manual, others made me smile and others blew my mind (in a good way, no doubt about that)!

My only conclusion about K. Morris’ writing style is precisely that it fits all the categories mentioned above, which is neither good nor bad, just always surprising. The content of his book also goes from simple observations about how nature behaves to critical analysis of our society and the way human beings deal and live with the problems they sometimes have to face.

I’ll leave here my favourite poems and flash proses and also a recommendation to read this book if you’re into poetry and a mixture of different feelings!

  • Ghosts
  • Night
  • Dark Angel
  • Autumn Rain
  • Let Us Go
  • Beauty in Bleakness
  • The Letter
  • Run For Your Life
  • House Proud

Detailed Rating:

  • Content ★★★★☆
  • Writing ★★★☆☆
  • Cover ★★★☆☆

Synopsis (from goodreads):

A collection of poetry and flash fiction.

Publisher: K. Morris
Date of Publication:  December 7th 2014
Genre: Poetry
Page Count: 64
Source: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
Interested in reading more of my reviews? Check out my Reviews page!
