ARC Review: Mean Girls Club by Ryan Heshka

25330303
Book Rate: ★☆☆☆☆ (1/5)

Review:

Reading this book was a very weird experience, I must admit…

The moment I saw the cover and the title I got so excited to read it! I finished it in 10 minutes and my first thoughts were:

  • “Oh.”
  • “Ok…”
  • “There’s barely any plot, like at all…”
  • “And I didn’t even get to really know the characters. Not a single one of them!”
  • “I’m the exact same person I was before I started reading this book. I only lost 10 minutes of my life.”
  • “…”
  • “Or maybe not…”
  • “Let me google the name on the last page…”

And that was when I understood that Mean Girls Club is not one of those books with kickass assassins like Throne of Glass‘s Celaena or an important feminist plot like I was imagining. It is simply a book that like all books is supposed to make you feel something. In this case it is discomfort: these women are unbelievable! They torture, kill, steal, do drugs, DRINK TEARS! It just reminded me of a group of guys from the Mafia or something… And then it hit me. This is the feminine correspondent, something I had never seen portrayed before!

And as good as it felt to understand this book, it still didn’t compensate for the disappointment it was. I think it would have really gained a lot if it had a little more plot and depth… I mean the drawings are great with their vintage side and all. But I really would’ve liked to know this group of girls better…

Detailed Rating:

  • Plot ★☆☆☆☆
  • Characters ★☆☆☆☆
  • Graphics ★★★☆☆
  • Pacing ★☆☆☆☆
  • Cover ★★★★☆

Synopsis (adapted from goodreads):

This bold comic is full of sassy club-singing sisters who you don’t wanna mess with! Introducing: Pinky, Sweets, Blackie, McQualude, and Wanda. Together they form the Mean Girls Club, a menacing powerhouse of ruthless rebels.

Publisher: Nobrow Press
Date of Publication: February 2nd 2016
Genre: Comics
Page Count: 24
Source: I was approved by the publisher on Edelweiss to receive a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Interested in reading more of my reviews? Check out my Reviews page!

One thought on “ARC Review: Mean Girls Club by Ryan Heshka

Leave a Reply

