Ramble #28: Shadowhunters TV Show

I have a confession to make.

I watched the first episode of the “Shadowhunters”, a TV show base on Cassandra Clare’s book series The Mortal Instruments. I hated it.

I had to stop halfway (or less) through because I didn’t feel good watching the rest. At first I was feeling good, even though there were some changes in a few characters like Lukebeing a cop, Dorothea being a skinny young woman and Maureen being good friends with Simon and Clary… But the other characters made me feel pretty confident, I felt like this Clary sounded like the Clary from the books and so did Simon and Jocelyn, I was happy about that.

What made me pause the episode and close my browser window then? The Institute… In my mind I pictured it like an old big building, from the time when Will Herondale, James Carstairs and Tessa Gray lived their first adventure together. Not a mix between Star Wars and 007 or Batman… The moment I saw Izzy, Jace and Alec walking around a place so artificial, and so brighty and so… not homie I had to stop watching. I love the world the books created in my mind too much to let the show ruin it for me.

Did any of you guys watched it yet? How did you feel about it? Tell me everything in the comment section below!

28 thoughts on “Ramble #28: Shadowhunters TV Show

  1. Jay E. says:

    My wife watched the show and told me not to watch it as I’d go into a fit because it wasn’t like the books. She correctly deduced my biggest problem would be the Institute. Why do they have to change things?!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. becanix says:

    I’m not really liking it either. Everything is going way to quickly, and I didn’t like the Institute at all. And I don’t know if it’s just me, but I’m not seeing any chemistry between Clary and Jace at all! lol I feel like they could have done so so much better but just failed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rebeca says:

      Yes, you would expected then to do a better job handling the whole book-movie thing after the failure that was the movie adaptation back then…. I seriously can’t watch another episode…

      Like

  3. Mafs says:

    I haven’t read all the books in The Mortal Instruments series but I was sure the TV show wouldn’t be like the books. I’m actually liking it as an idividual TV show. I decided to watch the show and make no connection to the books and that’s why I’m tolerating it so far. I also liked the movie better.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. zainabshykh says:

    I had the same problem. The Institue was too artificial and too modern. It didn’t feel real. I also didn’t like Jace. I thought that Clary was convinced by everything too quickly and their relationship was also too quick to start.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

