ARC Review: The Greatest Zombie Movie Ever by Jeff Strand

26534110

Book Rate: ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Review:

I’m not even sure this still counts as an ARC review since the books was published 2 days ago… But since I received an ARC copy 3 months ago and simply wasn’t able to finish it due to my reading slump: I’ll consider it an ARC review.

Firstly I would like to express my appreciation for this book because it took me out of my reading slump. I’m forever grateful Jeff Strand!

Now on to the review itself: If I had to sum up Jeff Strand’s The Greatest Zombie Movie Ever in one sentence it would be “I wish I had picked it up earlier”! Jeff’s writing is very light and accessible, the plot and characters are wonderfully funny and it’s never “too much”. I know we all have read some comedies with jokes that sounded forced, but not The Greatest Zombie Movie Ever. If this book was a sound it would be a laugh with a smile in the end. Because underneath all the fun and zombies there were very important messages like when to know to give up, and when to know to not. That friends are important, and everything has measure. That we don’t have to live everything in High School, there’s still a world of things to live after that.

A light read full of meaning. I recommend 100%!

Detailed Rating:

  • Plot ★★★★☆
  • Characters ★★★☆☆
  • Writing ★★★★☆
  • Pacing ★★★★☆
  • Cover ★★★★★

Synopsis (adapted from goodreads):

After producing 3 horror films that went mostly ignored on YouTube, Justin and his filmmaking buddies decide it’s time to make something epic. In fact, they’re going to make The Greatest Zombie Movie Ever. They may not have money or a script, but they have passion. 

Hemmed in by a one-month timeline and a cast of uncooperative extras, but aching to fulfill Alicia’s (the female lead and Justin’s crush) dreams, Justin must face the sad, sad truth: he may, in actuality, be producing The Worst Zombie Movie Ever.

Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Date of Publication: March 1st 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Comedy
Page Count: 272
Source: I was approved by the publisher on Netgalley to receive a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Interested in reading more of my reviews? Check out my Reviews page!

 

11 thoughts on “ARC Review: The Greatest Zombie Movie Ever by Jeff Strand

Leave a Reply

