Review: I Am Sleepless: Sim 299 by Johan Twiss

27846534
Book Rate:
 ★★★★☆ (4/5)

Review:

I would like to start by saying I read this book in 3 days. “And why is this important?” you ask me. Because I’ve been on a reading slump since January (I guess it was my post-“the year is almost ending and I gotta finish my Goodreads Reading Challenge” exhaustion period) and it’s currently the 6th of April and no book had gripped as hard as this one did. So there you go, relevance.

If I had to describe I Am Sleepless without reading the synopsis I would say it is a mix between Ready Player One and The Darkest Minds Trilogy. It’s not as well-explored, not as detailed, not as unforgettable, true. But that may also be because I read those two first so this one didn’t come as much as a surprise to me. Nevertheless, I Am Sleepless managed to grab my attention very efficiently!

Johan Twiss’s characters are quite wonderful, very different and real, but I which I had gotten to know them better. The reader gets to see them all interact as a group a lot but we rarely learn about them as individuals – except for the main character, Aidan.

The story line was very consistent and interesting and then again, I wouldn’t change its structure a single bit, I only add more depth to it. I feel like a lot of the situations presented could’ve been better explored (as in more explored). The fights on the Pit, the Sim 299,  I think they would’ve won a lot if they had been more intense for the reader.

But apart from what I pointed out, I have to say I enjoyed everything else in I Am Sleepless. The book’s structure was charming, full of drawings of this world’s creature and relevant excerpts of old books. I was captured!

So if you’re wondering if I recommend it? Yes I do, specially if you’ve read Ready Player One and The Darkest Minds and you’re craving more of the kind. Personally, I’m really looking forward to the sequel!

Detailed Rating:

  • Plot ★★★★☆
  • Characters ★★★★☆
  • Writing ★★★☆☆
  • Pacing ★★★★☆
  • Cover ★★★★☆

Synopsis (adapted from goodreads):

The planet Ethos is at war with an enemy known as the Splicers. Their only successful defense is the Prime Initiative. All newborn babies with the compatible genetic code are taken from their families and injected with the Prime Stimulus. Each child that survives the stimulus develops an extraordinary ability and is conscripted into the military for training.

After turning 12, Aidan is moved to the upper-class at the Mount Fegorio training complex. His special gifts allow him unprecedented success in the virtual training simulations, advancing him further than any prime cadet in history. No one knows what lies after sim 299, not even Director Tuskin, the reclusive ruler of their planet. But something, or someone, has been guiding Aidan there. If he can pass the final tests, he may discover the key to ending the Splicer War.

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Date of Publication:  October 28th 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction
Page Count: 286
Source: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
Interested in reading more of my reviews? Check out my Reviews page!
4 thoughts on “Review: I Am Sleepless: Sim 299 by Johan Twiss

Leave a Reply

