Ramble #34: Airport Bookstores

If I did a bookhaul this month… actually… if I did a bookhaul these last 2 months I would be telling you how I got all my books at an airport bookstore. Frankfurt airport’s coolest bookstore (yes, there are several) to be exact.

The first time I was on my way to Tallinn and had a 5 hour layover there. I wandered through the airport, entered a few bookstores (most of them with big German sections) and eventually got to one which was half an English section half a German section. “Well, this is new!” I thought. Here in Portugal I also only have one-shelf-English-section bookstores! So, of course, I spent the next hour and a half within those four walls…

You cannot imagine my happiness when I came face to face with books such as “It Ends With Us” and “Honey and Milk”. I just grabbed them all! By the time I was finished looking through every book I had stacked 7 books to bring home with me. OBVIOUSLY that didn’t happen! Firstly because money, secondly because airplane rules. My luggage was already exceeding the weigh limit, to add 7 books to it was nuts! So I had to spend more half an hour reading through synopsis and reviews and going to other picky selection criteria in order to get down to 3 books. I did.

edit2

Then another trip came, with another layover at Frankfurt. This time I only had 2 hours but I already knew exactly where to go! Again, after stacking more books then I should and having to select only some of them, I came home with some more awesome books.

edit1

But why am I telling you this? No, it’s not to make you jealous of the super cool bookstore I found (although it could be 😉 ). It’s to talk a bit about unlikelihood. I never thought I would find the best bookshop I’ve entered so far in my life in a German airport (or any airport at all for that matter!). But I did.

So what I took out of this and wanted to share with you guys is: the weirdest places can turn out to be your favorites. So, no matter how unlikely it may seem to you that the place you’re in might be of any interest to you, look around, keep an eye open. You might just end up surprised and wishing you could stay there longer! 😉

8 thoughts on “Ramble #34: Airport Bookstores

Leave a Reply

