Top 5 Favourite Villains – Edition #1

For those of you who voted on my Ramble #16 Poll, first of all thank you and second of all here you have the winner post! I present you the very first edition of my top 5 favourite villains of all times!

  • NUMBER FIVE: SEBASTIAN MORGENSTERN

From the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare.

Sebastian would never have made it to this list had not my feeling towards him changed radically after I finished City of Heavenly FireTMI‘s last book. Only then did I start seeing him for the lost boy he truly was, the lost Jonathan, someone who could have been a sweet brother, son and friend. But due to having an ambicious father ended up having his life ruined from the day he was born.

  • NUMBER FOUR: B. B.

51MC7CVTUXL

From Blueeyed Boy by Joanne Harris.

B. B. is the type of character that stays with you, no matter what. I read this book a long time ago, I only remeber bits of the story but I will never be able to shake the feeling I get when I think about B. B…. It probably helped that I read this when I was younger and thought it would be a cute novel instead of the phsycological thriller it is. Regardless, congratulations for the excellent excellent character Joanne Harris!

  • NUMBER THREE: THE BASILISK

From the Harry Potter saga by J. K. Rowling.

I bet you didn’t see this one coming, did you? You were expecting Voldemort or Bellatrix, weren’t you? Well none of those two gave me the creeps everytime I had to leave the bathroom when I was little. But this big guy did! After Moaning Myrtle’s story I always closed my eyes when I had to open the bathroom door, and this lasted one whole year! Now googling the image I still got the chills looking into his eyes…

  • NUMBER TWO: REBECCA DE WINTER

f027f9bab56b576b9f7aab5c4543fe1f

From Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier.

I read this book as a young girl because, as you can imagine, I was super curious to find out what the book with my name was about. Well, I really liked the book Rebecca but I really hated the character Rebecca, which left me quite disappointed at the time. Rebecca de Winter was one of the first unbelievably mean book characters I was introduced to. A classic villain!

  • NUMBER ONE: Amy Dunne

From Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn.

Amy’s character scared the hell out of me. Seriously. For real!!! How can someone be this… this… I DON’T EVEN HAVE A WORD FOR IT! Just staring at her gives me the crreps… (Side note: If you haven’t read Gone Girl go do it now. Noooow! Unless you don’t like being scared… in that case stay away.)

Two things: firstly, this images are not mine (obviously) and if you click on them a new window will appear taking you to the website I took each of them from. Secondly, I feel like this list could be a lot better if I just stopped being lazy and started reading more Stephen King and Gillian Flynn like I’ve been intending to…

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Favourite Villains – Edition #1

  1. haileyhugsbooks says:

    Rebecca is one of my favorite books. Rarely ever do I see it on lists like this. I love that she is getting some recognition of her villainy. The amount of control she has over the characters throughout the story is crazy amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. thestarter1978 says:

    I loved Rebecca – I heard a rumour that someone was planning to remake the film but haven’t heard any more about it.

    I must admit that I also really liked Amy Dunne – she struck me as rather a Lady Macbeth for modern times.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

